Register

Prizm fx-CG50 announced for spring 2017

All news about Casiopeia, calculator games, development tools and community news will be posted here.
Senior Member
User avatar
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Krautland ****
Calculators: Casio fx-7400GII, Casio fx-7400GII (SH4), Casio fx-9750 G II, Casio fx-9750 G II (SH4), Casio fx-9860G, Casio fx-9860 G SD, Casio fx-9860G Slim, Casio fx-9860 GII SD, Casio fx-9860 GII SD Power Graphic 2, Casio Classpad 330 plus, Casio fx-CG 20, Casio Classpad fx-cp400, Casio fx-CG 50

Re: Prizm fx-CG50 announced for spring 2017

Postby SimonLothar » Sat Apr 01, 2017 9:04 am

AmazoNKA wrote:Sorry for being ignorant with this type of things...
Would add-in with vram address being hardcoded as 0xA8000000 still work on fx-cg50 please?
No. Syscall 1e6 returns 0xAC000000.
I'll be back!

Senior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 12:01 pm
Calculators: None

Re: Prizm fx-CG50 announced for spring 2017

Postby TeamFX » Sat Apr 01, 2017 10:33 am

Would add-in with vram address being hardcoded as 0xA8000000 still work on fx-cg50 please?

No, since address 0xA8000000 contains garbage because it is not physically connected to the processor.

Is 6MB that increased managed by the OS?

The first 2 MB seem to contain everything the system needs.
The OS might use the extra RAM for additional VRAM backups or some 3D graph data or something else.

I know NOTHING about super-h but would it be possible to use the MMU to create a mirror of sdram at the place where the old add ins expect SRAM?

This is not just about the new addresses. SDRAM requires a lot of control register fiddling and it will be difficult to remove all of this, otherwise the system could become unstable or freeze. And there are timing issues because of the changed clock settings. At least the serial register settings need to be reverted, but maybe more CPU modules are affected. And as I said above, the extra RAM is probably used for additional stuff like VRAM backups and all of this needs to be reverted as well.

Senior Member
User avatar
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 10:24 am
Location: France
Calculators: Casio Afx 1.0, Casio fx-9860 GII, Casio fx-CG 50

Re: Prizm fx-CG50 announced for spring 2017

Postby cakeisalie5 » Sat Apr 01, 2017 11:45 am

TeamFX wrote:
I know NOTHING about super-h but would it be possible to use the MMU to create a mirror of sdram at the place where the old add ins expect SRAM?

This is not just about the new addresses. SDRAM requires a lot of control register fiddling and it will be difficult to remove all of this, otherwise the system could become unstable or freeze. And there are timing issues because of the changed clock settings. At least the serial register settings need to be reverted, but maybe more CPU modules are affected. And as I said above, the extra RAM is probably used for additional stuff like VRAM backups and all of this needs to be reverted as well.

Also, 0x80000000-0x9FFFFFFF is a non-mappable area (only 0x00000000-0x7FFFFFFF and 0xC0000000-0xDFFFFFFF are if I'm not mistaken). x)
Part of the Planète Casio community (FR) - main author of the P7 project - libp7 - libg1m - FONTCHARACTER reference

Senior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:53 am
Calculators: Casio fx-CG 20

Re: Prizm fx-CG50 announced for spring 2017

Postby AmazoNKA » Sat Apr 01, 2017 1:56 pm

Thank you, all for explaining

Senior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:53 am
Calculators: Casio fx-CG 20

Re: Prizm fx-CG50 announced for spring 2017

Postby AmazoNKA » Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:01 pm

By the way, guys, do you get that info from hardware or only emulator so far. I'm having problems getting new emulator demo to work - i think it links itself with the subscription edition i had for previous prizm and says that even the new fx-cg50 one has expired- so brutal ;-(

Senior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 12:01 pm
Calculators: None

Re: Prizm fx-CG50 announced for spring 2017

Postby TeamFX » Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:50 pm

By the way, guys, do you get that info from hardware or only emulator so far.

From a real fx-CG50. On the emulator, there is no SDRAM-related code and the RAM resides at address 0x88000000.

RAM: ESMT M12L64164A-7TI
ROM: SPANSION S99-50272
LCD: 3A36B (same as on OS 1.04 models)

[CY810AY MAIN] 111
OS 03.00.0202
OS date: 2017.0123.0935
Boot date: 2017.0106.2008
Product: 810AW72QA001462
Last edited by TeamFX on Sat Apr 01, 2017 6:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Senior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:53 am
Calculators: Casio fx-CG 20

Re: Prizm fx-CG50 announced for spring 2017

Postby AmazoNKA » Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:30 pm

Thanks again

Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:59 am
Calculators: None

Re: Prizm fx-CG50 announced for spring 2017

Postby parrotgeek1 » Sat Apr 01, 2017 8:25 pm

TeamFX wrote:
By the way, guys, do you get that info from hardware or only emulator so far.

From a real fx-CG50. On the emulator, there is no SDRAM-related code and the RAM resides at address 0x88000000

Could it be possible to port the OS from the emulator to a real calculator? How different is the emulator from real hardware?

Member
User avatar
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Japan
Calculators: Casio Cfx Series, Casio fx-9860G, Casio fx-9860 GII, Casio fx-9860 GII SD Power Graphic 2, Casio fx-CG 10, Casio fx-CG 20, Casio fx-CG 50

Re: Prizm fx-CG50 announced for spring 2017

Postby sentaro21 » Sun Apr 02, 2017 6:00 am

TeamFX wrote:
Is 6MB that increased managed by the OS?

The first 2 MB seem to contain everything the system needs.
The OS might use the extra RAM for additional VRAM backups or some 3D graph data or something else.


Thanks very much.
Around 4MB seems to have a free area. :)

By the way,
CG50 is reduction consumption electricity than CG20, might the CPU process be changed?

Senior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 12:01 pm
Calculators: None

Re: Prizm fx-CG50 announced for spring 2017

Postby TeamFX » Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:22 am

Could it be possible to port the OS from the emulator to a real calculator? How different is the emulator from real hardware?

Actually, I was stupid enough to try this yesterday, but all I got was "illegal code error" and no keys working...

CG50 is reduction consumption electricity than CG20, might the CPU process be changed?

I don't think so. This is unnecessary, too expensive and SuperH is already being phased out by Renesas.
The only software thing I have found is a very dark backlight setting (level 0) when the calculator is inactive.

PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests