Need some newbie help please
- MrMagoo
- Member
-
- Posts: 44
- Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:57 am
- Location: London
- Calculators: Casio fx-7400G, Casio fx-7400G PLUS, Casio fx-7400GII, Casio fx-9750G, Casio fx-9750G PLUS, Casio fx-9860GII
Need some newbie help please
Hey guys,
I am totally new to the casio SDK and really need some guidance.
I was pretty good with the original casio basic, and I have a lot of experience with Autoit, but C has never really sunk in.
I need some help with user inputs, id like something like this;
"Variable 1 = ?"
"Variable 2 = ?"
Then the output is a simple mulitplication of the two.
I think im ok with the print function but I cant figure out how the values are input.
Can I also then save these values to a memory that can be accessed after the calculator has been restarted?
Thanks in advance
I am totally new to the casio SDK and really need some guidance.
I was pretty good with the original casio basic, and I have a lot of experience with Autoit, but C has never really sunk in.
I need some help with user inputs, id like something like this;
"Variable 1 = ?"
"Variable 2 = ?"
Then the output is a simple mulitplication of the two.
I think im ok with the print function but I cant figure out how the values are input.
Can I also then save these values to a memory that can be accessed after the calculator has been restarted?
Thanks in advance

"The trouble with internet quotations, is that the majority are totally made up." - Abraham Lincoln 1863
- SimonLothar
- Senior Member
-
- Posts: 605
- Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:59 am
- Location: Krautland ****
- Calculators: Casio fx-7400GII, Casio fx-7400GII (SH4), Casio fx-9750GII, Casio fx-9750GII (SH4), Casio fx-9860G, Casio fx-9860G SD, Casio fx-9860G Slim, Casio fx-9860GII SD, Casio fx-9860GII SD Power Graphic 2, Casio Classpad 330 plus, Casio fx-CG20, Casio fx-CG50, Casio Classpad fx-CP400
Re: Need some newbie help please
Did you get essential functions like GetKey, Print, locate, Bdisp_PutDisp_DD and Bdisp_AllClr_VRAM running properly?
I'll be back!
- MrMagoo
- Member
-
- Posts: 44
- Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:57 am
- Location: London
- Calculators: Casio fx-7400G, Casio fx-7400G PLUS, Casio fx-7400GII, Casio fx-9750G, Casio fx-9750G PLUS, Casio fx-9860GII
Re: Need some newbie help please
SimonLothar wrote:Did you get essential functions like GetKey, Print, locate, Bdisp_PutDisp_DD and Bdisp_AllClr_VRAM running properly?
I'd like to say yes, but I cant

I know what locate and getkey do, and I think I can make them work.
Print, I have kind of figured out, just by looking around here.
But I dont even know what the others do, nevermind getting them to work. I have tried looking around, but I cant find a Casio SDK for dummies anywhere.
"The trouble with internet quotations, is that the majority are totally made up." - Abraham Lincoln 1863
- SimonLothar
- Senior Member
-
- Posts: 605
- Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:59 am
- Location: Krautland ****
- Calculators: Casio fx-7400GII, Casio fx-7400GII (SH4), Casio fx-9750GII, Casio fx-9750GII (SH4), Casio fx-9860G, Casio fx-9860G SD, Casio fx-9860G Slim, Casio fx-9860GII SD, Casio fx-9860GII SD Power Graphic 2, Casio Classpad 330 plus, Casio fx-CG20, Casio fx-CG50, Casio Classpad fx-CP400
Re: Need some newbie help please
Try to compile the following code (f. i. as file test.c).
(SDK's main menu: Project/Rebuild all)
(SDK's main menu: Project/Rebuild all)
- Code: Select all
#include <fxlib.h>
int AddIn_main(int isAppli, unsigned short OptionNum)
{
unsigned int key;
Bdisp_AllClr_VRAM(); // clear the screen
locate( 1, 1 ); // position the cursor
Print( "Hello world!" ); // display a message
while (1) GetKey( &key ); // wait endlessly
}
#pragma section _BR_Size
unsigned long BR_Size;
#pragma section
#pragma section _TOP
int InitializeSystem(int isAppli, unsigned short OptionNum)
{
return INIT_ADDIN_APPLICATION(isAppli, OptionNum);
}
#pragma section
I'll be back!
- SimonLothar
- Senior Member
-
- Posts: 605
- Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:59 am
- Location: Krautland ****
- Calculators: Casio fx-7400GII, Casio fx-7400GII (SH4), Casio fx-9750GII, Casio fx-9750GII (SH4), Casio fx-9860G, Casio fx-9860G SD, Casio fx-9860G Slim, Casio fx-9860GII SD, Casio fx-9860GII SD Power Graphic 2, Casio Classpad 330 plus, Casio fx-CG20, Casio fx-CG50, Casio Classpad fx-CP400
Re: Need some newbie help please
Be sure to explore the SDK's main menu item
"Help" -> "Contents" -> "using the fx-9860G SDK"
"Help" -> "Contents" -> "using the fx-9860G SDK"
I'll be back!
- MrMagoo
- Member
-
- Posts: 44
- Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:57 am
- Location: London
- Calculators: Casio fx-7400G, Casio fx-7400G PLUS, Casio fx-7400GII, Casio fx-9750G, Casio fx-9750G PLUS, Casio fx-9860GII
Re: Need some newbie help please
SimonLothar wrote:Try to compile the following code (f. i. as file test.c).
(SDK's main menu: Project/Rebuild all)
- Code: Select all
#include <fxlib.h>
int AddIn_main(int isAppli, unsigned short OptionNum)
{
unsigned int key;
Bdisp_AllClr_VRAM(); // clear the screen
locate( 1, 1 ); // position the cursor
Print( "Hello world!" ); // display a message
while (1) GetKey( &key ); // wait endlessly
}
#pragma section _BR_Size
unsigned long BR_Size;
#pragma section
#pragma section _TOP
int InitializeSystem(int isAppli, unsigned short OptionNum)
{
return INIT_ADDIN_APPLICATION(isAppli, OptionNum);
}
#pragma section
Ok, all done. Worked perfectly.
Why do we not need a wend ?
What is the getkey function doing?
In other languages I am familar with, an endless loop would be done like this
While 1
Sleep(500) ; to reduce load
Wend
I assume "while (1) GetKey( &key ); // wait endlessly" is the same?
"The trouble with internet quotations, is that the majority are totally made up." - Abraham Lincoln 1863
- helder7
- Senior Member
- Posts: 369
- Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:24 pm
- Calculators: Casio Afx 1.0, Casio fx-9860GII SD, Casio Classpad 330, Casio fx-CG20, Casio Classpad fx-CP400
Re: Need some newbie help please
You can put parenthesis in while, like:
they (parenthesis) will symbolize the Wend of the while.
Getkey returns the pressed calculator key code to the "unsigned int key;". Its a infinite loop.
- Code: Select all
while(1){
GetKey(&key);
}
they (parenthesis) will symbolize the Wend of the while.
Getkey returns the pressed calculator key code to the "unsigned int key;". Its a infinite loop.
SiO2 + CaCO3 ----------> CaSiO3 + CO2
- MrMagoo
- Member
-
- Posts: 44
- Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:57 am
- Location: London
- Calculators: Casio fx-7400G, Casio fx-7400G PLUS, Casio fx-7400GII, Casio fx-9750G, Casio fx-9750G PLUS, Casio fx-9860GII
Re: Need some newbie help please
helder7 wrote:You can put parenthesis in while, like:
- Code: Select all
while(1){
GetKey(&key);
}
they (parenthesis) will symbolize the Wend of the while.
Getkey returns the pressed calculator key code to the "unsigned int key;". Its a infinite loop.
I see, so the key code is assigned to "key"?
If i did;
While key = 0{
Getkey(&key);
}[/code]
Would this loop until a key is pressed?
"The trouble with internet quotations, is that the majority are totally made up." - Abraham Lincoln 1863
- helder7
- Senior Member
- Posts: 369
- Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:24 pm
- Calculators: Casio Afx 1.0, Casio fx-9860GII SD, Casio Classpad 330, Casio fx-CG20, Casio Classpad fx-CP400
Re: Need some newbie help please
MrMagoo wrote:If i did;
While key = 0{
Getkey(&key);
}[/code]
Would this loop until a key is pressed?
While should be lowercase, "while"
To check if key is equal to 0, you should use the operator ==, not = (check this wikipedia article about operators)
You can/should simply use the following code to getkey indefinitely:
while(1){
GetKey(&key);
}
Makes no sense only loop until a key is pressed.
you can use a code like the code in your exemple for exemple to write text while a key (in this case EXE) is pressed:
- Code: Select all
while (key == KEY_CTRL_EXE){
PrintXY(1, 1,(unsigned char*)"some text", 0);
}
SiO2 + CaCO3 ----------> CaSiO3 + CO2
- MrMagoo
- Member
-
- Posts: 44
- Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:57 am
- Location: London
- Calculators: Casio fx-7400G, Casio fx-7400G PLUS, Casio fx-7400GII, Casio fx-9750G, Casio fx-9750G PLUS, Casio fx-9860GII
Re: Need some newbie help please
helder7 wrote:MrMagoo wrote:If i did;
While key = 0{
Getkey(&key);
}[/code]
Would this loop until a key is pressed?
While should be lowercase, "while"
To check if key is equal to 0, you should use the operator ==, not = (check this wikipedia article about operators)
You can/should simply use the following code to getkey indefinitely:while(1){
GetKey(&key);
}
Makes no sense only loop until a key is pressed.
you can use a code like the code in your exemple for exemple to write text while a key (in this case EXE) is pressed:
- Code: Select all
while (key == KEY_CTRL_EXE){
PrintXY(1, 1,(unsigned char*)"some text", 0);
}
Ok excellent, can we add a select case control that allows the code to jump to various functions?
so if the user presses F1 while in the loop it jumps to function1, or F2 and it jumps to function2 etc?
Also, how do we get an input from the user?
"The trouble with internet quotations, is that the majority are totally made up." - Abraham Lincoln 1863
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests